Bob Dylan’s 30th Anniversary Concert to Be Reissued on DVD, Blu-Ray and CD

dylan-30.jpgBack in 1992, Bob Dylan’s record label organized a 30th anniversary concert at Madison Square Garden in New York City. The concert included dozens of artists playing versions of Dylan songs, and ended with Dylan playing three songs, plus one where he was joined by all the musicians.

Sony is re-releasing this, in new versions, both video and audio. It will be available on March 3, on DVD (, Amazon UK), Blu-Ray (, Amazon UK) and CD (, Amazon UK). It will also be available online, though it’s not yet listen on Amazon or the iTunes Store.

The new versions include a number of songs that weren’t on the original VHS or CD releases. There were 29 songs on the original CD, and this version contains 33 songs, along with some backstage footage.

Like all such star-studded tribute concerts, there are some good songs, some that are less interesting. You may remember the Sinead O’Connor “song,” where she got booed, after having criticized the pope a few days earlier on Saturday Night Live; that’s probably the low point of the night. But there are some great performances by Johnny and June Carter Cash, Eric Clapton, Neil Young and others. And Bob’s Girl of the North Country is an excellent end to the evening.

The 30th Anniversary Concert includes the following:

“Like A Rolling Stone” – John Mellencamp
“Blowin’ In The Wind” – Stevie Wonder
“Foot of Pride” – Lou Reed
“Masters of War” – Eddie Vedder/Mike McCready
“The Times They Are A-Changin'” – Tracy Chapman
“It Ain’t Me Babe” – June Carter Cash/Johnny Cash
“What Was It You Wanted” – Willie Nelson
“I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight” – Kris Kristofferson
“Highway 61 Revisited” – Johnny Winter
“Seven Days – Ron Wood
“Just Like a Woman” – Richie Havens
“When the Ship Comes In” – The Clancy Brothers and Robbie O’Connell with special guest Tommy Makem
“War” – Sinead O’Connor
“Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues” – Neil Young
“All Along the Watchtower” – Neil Young
“I Shall be Released” – Chrissie Hynde
“Love Minus Zero, No Limit” – Eric Clapton (Track Only Available on DVD/Blu-Ray Format)
“Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” – Eric Clapton
“Emotionally Yours” – The O’Jays
“When I Paint My Masterpiece” – The Band
“You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere” – Mary Chapin Carpenter/Rosanne Cash/Shawn Colvin
“Absolutely Sweet Marie – George Harrison”
“License to Kill” – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
“Rainy Day Women #12 & 35” – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
“Mr Tambourine Man” – Roger McGuinn
“It’s Alright, Ma” – Bob Dylan
“My Back Pages” – Bob Dylan/Roger McGuinn/Tom Petty/Neil Young/Eric Clapton/George Harrison
“Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door” – Everyone
“Girl of The North Country” – Bob Dylan

DVD Bonus Tracks:
“Leopard-Skin Pill-box Hat” – John Mellencamp
“Boots of Spanish Leather” – Nanci Griffith with Carolyn Hester
“Gotta Serve Somebody” – Booker T. & the M.G.’s

CD Audio Bonus Tracks:
“I Belive in You” – Sinéad O’Connor (from soundcheck, previously unreleased)
“Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” – Eric Clapton (from soundcheck, previously unreleased)